Before Cremation Services in New Hampshire - Steps to Take with a Deceased Loved One
When a loved one dies, it can be hard to think about New Hampshire cremation services, much less how to even get the process started. Even if you expected a loved one to die soon, grief can still slow down rational thought. You should understand the sequence of events when someone dies so that you are prepared, even if you meet with a funeral specialist. Cremation services in New Hampshire, whether you live in Dover or Concord, follows a specific procedure from start to finish.
When a Loved One Dies
It is important to know that when a loved one dies, they cannot be moved until a doctor or registered nurse signs a pronouncement of death. This detail is based on a statute in New Hampshire. Cremation services cannot be commenced until the designated funeral establishment receives the body with appropriate paperwork, including the pronouncement of death. If your loved one died in a hospital or health care facility, these establishments typically take care of the initial paperwork and help you make arrangements for transportation of your loved one.
In the event of an accident or death under certain conditions, your loved one may not be expedited for cremation services in New Hampshire until after a medical examiner releases your deceased loved one's body. For home hospice care, typically the only requirement needed is the pronouncement of death from the physician on call or a registered nurse. If your loved one died in another state but wished for New Hampshire cremation services, your funeral specialist can help you with the details in getting your deceased loved one back home, whether you live in Manchester or elsewhere in the state.
Is Embalming Required for Cremation Services in New Hampshire?
According to state law, embalming is not required if you plan a cremation for your deceased loved one. Your immediate family members can visit with the deceased before New Hampshire cremation services commence as long as this happens within the first 48 hours after death. This is because there is a 48 hour waiting period before cremation can occur, according to state law. The funeral establishment will take care and wash the deceased loved one's body and dress it respectfully before family views it.
It is important for you to know that if your loved one is not ready for cremation services in New Hampshire after the 48 hour mandate, refrigeration of the body may be necessary. In addition, funeral establishments may require that the body be embalmed if you decide on a public viewing and visitation prior to the cremation procedure. Embalming is not a precautionary measure for the public's health; rather, it is more of a cosmetic application. The body may start to decompose rapidly without being embalmed which would make a public viewing not a viable option for the funeral.
Other New Hampshire Cremation Services Requirements and Details
The good news is that a formal casket is not a necessary expense with cremation services in New Hampshire. All that is required is that the body be cremated within a combustible container that is leak resistant and rigid, typically some type of lined, unadorned wooden box. However, if you are planning on a public viewing or visitation, in addition to the embalming, a casket is likely necessary, at least for appearance sake. With New Hampshire cremation services, a casket can be rented with a removable liner for the sole purpose of appearances during a public viewing and visitation before cremation.
If you or any family members are having trouble coming to terms with the death of a loved one, you likely can set up with your funeral specialist a time to personally view the cremation process. Many crematories have observation rooms for family and friends to watch the cremation services in New Hampshire, whether you live in Nashua or another city or town in the state.
When you talk with your funeral specialist about setting up the New Hampshire cremation services and go through all the required legal paperwork involved, be sure to disclose to them any medical devices such as a pacemaker or radiated items. If your deceased loved one had one of these items implanted, it must be removed before cremation. There is a possibility of one of these devices exploding under the intense heat and fire during cremation services in New Hampshire, causing property damage and bodily harm to crematory workers.
The extreme heat of the cremation chamber can be measured up to 2,000 degrees Fahrenheit which reduces a body to coarse ash and bone fragments, about three to eight pounds worth. After New Hampshire cremation services, the ashes are cooled and large metal fragments are removed such as dental work, clothing pieces and even hip replacement. Any big bone fragments are crushed to be mixed with the remains before placement in a container.
Is An Urn a Necessity with Cremation Services in New Hampshire?
Final disposition of the cremated remains will dictate whether or not you need an urn or not for your loved one's remains. Do you plan to hold onto the ashes and display the urn in a prominent place in your home or do you plan to store them in a niche within a columbarium or vault? New Hampshire cremation services would require an urn if one of these options is your goal.
On the flip side of the matter, if you plan to scatter the ashes in a special place in honor of the deceased loved one, an urn is not a necessary expense. The crematory automatically defers to placing the remains in a temporary container if an urn is not purchased. To thoroughly understand the ins and outs of cremation services in New Hampshire, please allow your funeral specialist to guide you through the process.